Young lawyers sticking to their goals

The Washington Post profiled three recent law school graduates who talked about positioning themselves to compete for the limited number of legal jobs–including Leila Leigh, a family law attorney in Maryland Legal Aid’s Metropolitan Maryland office (Riverdale).

“A lot of law students think, ‘I have to be in law review, I have to be in moot court.’ I just stayed focused on what I wanted to do and selected internships and opportunities that would put me in a position to do what I wanted to do when I was done,” said Leigh, who interned at Break the Cycle (a nonprofit working to combat teen dating violence), Legal Momentum’s Immigrant Women Program (which works with immigrant women who are survivors of domestic violence) and Women Empowered Against Violence.

To read the article, click here.

Leave a Reply

